Spectaculum

Carnival piece after a farce by Niklaus Manuel (1484-1530)
Book and direction: Ester Huss
Historical editing: Dr. Martin Illi

The popular theatre takes place in the cloister of the Fraumünster in Zurich on the following dates:

  • Friday, 16.6.2017: 12.15-13.45 / 17.15-18.45
  • Saturday, 17.6.2017: 11.00-12.30 / 14.00-15.30 / 17.15-18.45
  • Sunday, 18.6.2017: 11.15-12.45 / 14.00-15.30


Flyer (GE)
Audio
: Audio examples
Impressions of the performances

Video recordings of the performances

The Indulgence Seller (1517)

The carnival piece condemns clerical abuse – with the purchase of a letter of indulgence (issued by a bishop or a cardinal), all sins and wrongdoings by the buyer were forgiven. Back in the time, the indulgence sellers sold the indulgence letters much too expensively. For this reason, a group of courageous women decided to punish the indulgence seller who practically talked one of them into buying an indulgence letter and to reclaim the money.

Musical part

PrimaFlautina has been asked to take on the musical part in the piece as well as to play additional performances during the market activities on the Münsterplatz. With great pleasure and vigour, we got to work and looked for suitable music (1) and the appropriate musical instruments.
Such percussion instruments are the frame drum or tambourine (2), the Gemshorn (3), the crumhorn (4), the dulcian (5), the rauschpfeife (6) or the shrutibox (7). All these instruments and many more are supposed to help illustrate the vividness, the colourful goings-on of those times.

(1) Musik Beispiel
(1) Musik Beispiel
« 1 of 7 »

Merken

Merken

Spectaculum

Fastnachtsstück nach einer Posse von Niklaus Manuel (1484-1530)
Buch und Regie: Esther Huss
Historische Aufarbeitung: Dr. Martin Illi

Das Volkstheater findet im Kreuzgang des Fraumünsters in Zürich an folgenden Daten statt:

  • Freitag, 16.6.2017: 12.15-13.45 Uhr / 17.15-18.45 Uhr
  • Samstag, 17.6.2017: 11.00-12.30 Uhr / 14.00-15.30 Uhr / 17.15-18.45 Uhr
  • Sonntag, 18.6.2017: 11.15-12.45 Uhr / 14.00-15.30 Uhr

Flyer
Audio
: Hörbeispiele
Impressionen der Aufführungen
Video-Mitschnitte der Aufführungen

Der Ablasskrämer (1517)

Das Fastnachtsstück prangert kirchliche Missstände an — mit dem Kauf eines Ablassbriefes (ausgestellt durch einen Bischof oder Kardinal) wurden dem Käufer alle seine Sünden und Missetaten vergeben. Die Ablasskrämer zu jener Zeit verkauften die Ablassbriefe viel zu teuer. Aus diesem Grunde entschloss sich eine Gruppe von mutigen Frauen, den Ablasskrämer, der einer von ihnen im letzten Jahr einen Ablassbrief praktisch aufgeschwatzt hatte, zu bestrafen und das Geld zurückzufordern.

Musikalischer Part

PrimaFlautina wurde angefragt, den musikalischen Part im Theater zu übernehmen, wie auch zusätzliche Auftritte während des Marktgeschehens auf dem Münsterplatz zu bestreiten. Mit grosser Freude und Elan machten wir uns ans Werk und suchten passende Musik (1) und die dafür geeigneten Instrumente.
Als da wären u.a.: Perkussions-Instrumente wie die Rahmen- (2) oder Schellentrommel, Gemshorn (3), Krummhorn (4), Dulzian (5), Rauschpfeife (6) oder Shrutibox (7). All diese Instrumente und noch viele mehr sollen mithelfen, die Farbigkeit, das bunte Treiben der damaligen Zeit zu verdeutlichen.

(1) Musik Beispiel
(1) Musik Beispiel
« 1 von 7 »

Merken

Merken

Merken